“Der Verdacht” – a tense psychological thriller by Matti Geschonneck starring Christiane Paul, Hans-Jochen Wagner, Ina Weisse and Bjarne Henriksen.

Maja and Hanno Reichardt jointly run an office for environmental technologies in Berlin and are preparing a presentation in Namibia. Hanno in particular has been working for months on the designs for the construction of wind turbines and solar plants in Namibia and hopes to win the contract abroad. Through a study visit, he has a special relationship with the multifaceted country in southern Africa. The presentation takes the couple together to Windhoek, the capital of Namibia. But the trip turns into a nightmare for Maja: after a robbery in Windhoek, Maja is convinced that the attacker deliberately wanted to kill her and that she is being followed. But neither her husband nor Inspector Pienaar of the Namibian police and Kirsten Buresch, an employee of the German embassy in Windhoek, believe her. Everyone assumes, however, that it is an ordinary robbery of a tourist. Despite concerns about her health, which had been damaged by the attack, Maja and Hanno leave Windhoek and head for the coastal region around Swakopmund, where the project is to be realized. But even there Maja does not feel safe. The young German doctor Laura Steinborn, who takes care of Maja after a fainting spell and with whom she befriends, seems to be the only one who still has access to the woman who is increasingly desperate for her sanity, or is Laura also part of a conspiracy that has Maja’s death as its goal? When Hanno Reichardt dies in his car in an accident in the desert, his wife Maja suddenly becomes the focus of a police investigation. Does the woman, who apparently suffers from paranoia, have something to do with his death?

After the great success with audiences, the program press and critics of “Entführt” (6.5 million viewers) and his most recent feature film “Boxhagener Platz,” successful director Matti Geschonneck once again made a TV movie for ZDF. The lead role in the psychological thriller, which takes viewers to Namibia, is played by Christiane Paul (“Die Tote vom Deich,” “Der Doc und die Hexe”).
Other roles are played by Hans-Jochen Wagner (“Wohin mit Vater?”, “Es war einer von uns”), Ina Weisse (“Duell in der Nacht”, “Tod in Istanbul”), Mina Tander (“Maria, ihm schmeckts nicht”, “Nachtschicht – Wir sind die Polizei”), Bjarne Hendriksen (“Kommissarin Lund”, “Fräulein Stinnes fährt um die Welt”) and others.

For his films “Die Nachrichten” with Jan Josef Liefers and “Silberhochzeit” with Iris Berben, Matti Geschonneck received both the German and Bavarian Television Awards, and for “Mord am Meer” with Heino Ferch he was awarded the Television Prize of the German Academy of Performing Arts, the Bavarian Television Prize, the Adolf Grimme Prize, the Hamburg Television Film Prize and the “World Medal” of the New York Television Festival, among others. Earlier this year, the two-parter “Entführt” won the “Golden Camera 2010″ as best film, as well as a nomination for the Grimme Prize.

Der Verdacht”, a suspenseful and twisty thriller, marks the first collaboration between Matti Geschonneck and screenwriter Bernd Lange, who penned the feature films “Requiem” and “Sturm”, among others.

“Der Verdacht” is being produced by Cologne-based Network Movie Film- und
television production. Filming took place from mid-May to mid-June 2010 in Namibia and Berlin. The producers are Wolfgang Cimera and Silke Schulze-Erdel. The editorial office at ZDF is in the hands of Reinhold Elschot and Stefanie von Heydwolff. A broadcast date has not yet been set.

  • Stab

    Bernd Lange

    Matti Geschonneck

    Martin Langer

    Naomi Schenck

    Peri De Braganca

    Nikolaus Glowna, Siggi Mueller

    Nessi Nesslauer, Sandra Köppe

    Eva Schnare

    Jeffrey Budd

    Annette Oswald

    Wolfgang Cimera, Silke Schulze-Erdel

    Network Movie, Köln

    Reinhold Elschot, Stefanie von Heydwolff

    Die Darsteller

    Christiane Paul
    Hans-Jochen Wagner
    Ina Weisse
    Mina Tander
    Pierre Besson
    Thomas Lawinky
    Bjarne Henriksen